Google Translate
Google Search

The Federation of St Mary's Hatfield

Broad Oak & Little Hallingbury C of E Primary Schools


Who are we & what do we do?


Every school has a Board of Governors constituted in accordance with its Instrument of Government.  There is a single Federation Governing Body which is responsible for both schools in the Federation. Being Church Schools, the Federation Board of Governors includes representatives of the Church at Parish and Diocesan level, as well as the Local Authority, Parents and Teachers.


The Board of Governors is responsible for the staffing, finance, curriculum, Admissions Policy, special needs and future planning of the school.  The Governors work very closely with the Executive Headteacher in making decisions about the life of the School, and the well-being of all children and staff within the Federation.

The current Governing body is made up as follows:

NameCategory Term of officeResponsibilities 
Steven WilsonCo-opted6.11.23 - 05.11.27 
Nicola BraidCo-opted27.02.23 - 26.02.27Finance, Health & Safety
Sadia BoweringCo-opted6.11.23 - 05.11.27Vice Chair of Governors
Alison HutleyFoundation DBE26.09.20 - 25.09.24EYFS, Curriculum, PSHE
Sue BarrFoundation DBE30.09.22 - 29.09.26Worship, PE, Music
VacancyFoundation Ex-Officio  
VacancyFoundation Ex-Officio  
Cath YellandFoundation PCC10.11.20 - 09.11.24Inclusion & PP, SEND, DT
Dawn JewsonFoundation PCC06.11.23 – 05.11.27 
Caroline HardingFoundation PCC18.01.21 - 17.01.25RE, Art
Dianne HaddonFoundation PCC25.11.21 - 24.11.25Safeguarding, English, Phonics,
VacancyFoundation PCC  
Sheila NashFoundation PCC17.12.20 - 16.12.24Science, Policies,
VacancyParent HBO  
Audrey JonesParent LHS – Chair of Governors07.12.24 - 06.12.24Chair of Governors, Maths History, Geography
Eleni ChrysostomouStaff06.11.23 - 05.11.27 
Ruth BaughExecutive Head Teacher  

The full Board of Governors meets four times each year, whilst various sub-committees meet more frequently.  Governors regularly visit the school and also attend training courses and seminars on specific topics.

Parents may at any time bring matters of importance to the attention of the Board of Governors, either through the elected Parent Governors or through any member of the Board.


Governor Policies are available for parents to view through the School Office.


The Federation Board of Governors consists of:

  • 2 Parent Governors (one elected by each school)
  • 1 Local Education Authority (LEA) Governor
  • 1 Staff Governor (elected by the staff body)
  • The Executive Headteacher
  • 3 Co-opted Governors (appointed by the Board of Governors)
  • 10 Foundation Governors
  • 1 Associate Governor


Governors who have stepped down within the last year:

Previous GovernorsCategory of GovernorAppointed byOffice ceased
Stephen Oliver-DeanStaffStaff05.11.2023
Julia Reeves LALA26.02.2023
Danny WhiteParentParent18.11.2022
Debbie ManningEx-officioLEA01.04.2022
Natalie PrendervilleStaffStaff01.04.2022
Rev David HerrickEx-officioDiocese30.03.2022
Sonia StricklandEx-officioLEA30.03.2022
Joanna LorimerLALA01.03.2022


Visitors 1 1 4 6 6 7